Skip to content

Participation of the University of the Aegean in the University Network ERUA

On 9-10 February 2020, the Rectoress of the University of the Aegean, Professor Chryssi Vitsilaki and the Vice Rectoress Professor Elena Theodoropoulou, participated in a work meeting among the heads of five European Universities held at the Roskilde University, Denmark. During the meeting a Memorandum of Cooperation was signed in order to form a partnership to propose the establishment of the European Reform University Alliance – ERUA in the context of the initiative taken by European Universities on an Erasmus+ level responding to the 2nd call to submit proposals.

The participation in the partnership why signed by the Rectoresses of the University of Paris 8, Annick Allaigre, of  Roskilde University, Hanne Leth Andersen, of the University of Konstanz, Kerstin Krieglstein and of the University of the Aegean Chryssi Vitsilaki and also by the Head of New Bulgarian University Antoni Slavinski.

During the meeting participants confirmed the commitment of the above universities to cooperate on a systematic basis in order to develop common standard educational and research activities aiming to create a new, innovative and progressive university network, open to society and alert towards critical issues concerning the European and global community. They also agreed on placing emphasis on interdisciplinarity, experimental research and teaching approaches, critical and free thinking, inclusiveness, open science and diversity in the contemporary multilingual and intercultural environment. The universities participating in the partnership also committed to organising a common space for research, teaching and mobility, highlighting and supporting multiple forms of cooperation among their members.